GLEP Endorses Total of 56 Candidates in Legislative Races

Comments:0 Comments

Bi-partisan education advocacy group names “Champions for Kids” in 53 campaigns for State Senate and House of Representatives

Lansing, MI – The Great Lakes Education Project (GLEP) today reminded voters of their comprehensive list of endorsements in State Senate and House of Representative campaigns.

“We’re very proud to endorse these 56 outstanding individuals in these 53 races,” said Gary Naeyaert, GLEP Executive Director.  “Political elections are hard fought contests. We urge every voter to take a good look at their past records and positions on key issues and make the important decisions about which candidates to support,” Naeyaert continued.

GLEP’s endorsement process includes an examination of past voting records, personal interviews and results from the organization’s extensive candidate questionnaire. It should be noted that priority issues for GLEP include school choice and early literacy, wDemRephile there are a number of education policy issues for which endorsed candidates may hold a variety of positions, including K-12 funding, Common Core State Standards, student assessments, etc. Additional endorsements will be made in the 2014 General Election.

“We’re confident these candidates will be forceful advocates for children, and we’re pleased to endorse and support their campaigns,” said Beth DeShone, GLEP Advocacy Director.

Candidates endorsed by GLEP in 2014 include the following:

  • Senate District #02:    Rep. John Olumba (D-Detroit)
  • Senate District #05:    former Rep. Shanelle Jackson (D-Detroit)
  • Senate District #14:    Senator Dave Robertson (R-Grand Blanc)
  • Senate District #16:    Rep. Mike Shirkey (R-Clarklake)
  • Senate District #17:    Rep. Dale Zorn (R-Ida)
  • Senate District #21:    Senator John Proos (R-St. Joseph)
  • Senate District #22:    Senator Joe Hune (R-Hamburg)
  • Senate District #25:    Senator Phil Pavlov (R-St. Clair Township)
  • Senate District #26:    Senator Tonya Schuitmaker (R-Lawton)
  • Senate District #28:    Rep. Peter MacGregor (R-Cannon Township)
  • Senate District #29:    Senator Dave Hildenbrand (R-Lowell)
  • Senate District #30:    Senator Arlan Meekhof (R-West Olive)
  • Senate District #32:    former Rep. Ken Horn (R-Frankenmuth)
  • Senate District #36:    Rep. Jim Stamas (R-Midland)
  • Senate District #37:    Rep. Wayne Schmidt (R-Traverse City)
  • House District #03:     Steven Lett (D-Detroit)
  • House District #07:     Nicole Wells-Stallworth (D-Detroit)
  • House District #09:     Rep. Harvey Santana (D-Detroit)
  • House District #10:     Brandon Jessup (D-Detroit)
  • House District #11:     Lisa Hicks-Clayton (D-Dearborn Heights)
  • House District #17:     Charles Londo (R-Carleton)
  • House District #19:     Laura Cox (R-Livonia)
  • House District #21:     Carol Ann Fausone (R-Canton)
  • House District #24:     Rep. Anthony Forlini (R-Harrison Twp)
  • House District #25:     Nick Hawatmeh (R-Warren)
  • House District #26:     Greg Dildilian (R-Royal Oak)
  • House District #27:     Joe McHugh (D-Berkley)
  • House District #38:     Kathy Crawford (R-Novi)
  • House District #39:     Rep. Klint Kesto (R-Commerce Township)
  • House District #42:     Lana Theis (R-Brighton)
  • House District #44:     Jim Runestad (R-White Lake)
  • House District #44:     Liz Fessler-Smith (R-White Lake)
  • House District #45:     Michael Webber (R-Rochester Hills)
  • House District #46:     Rep. Brad Jacobsen (R-Oxford)
  • House District #47:     Wendy Day (R-Howell)
  • House District #47:     Hank Vaupel (R-Fowlerville)
  • House District #56:     Jason Sheppard (R-Temperance)
  • House District #61:     Brandt Iden (R-Kalamazoo)
  • House District #64:     Rep. Earl Poleski (R-Jackson)
  • House District #66:     Rep. Aric Nesbitt (R-Lawton)
  • House District #71:     Tom Barrett (R-Charlotte)
  • House District #72:     Rep. Ken Yonker (R-Caledonia)
  • House District #73:     Chris Afendoulis (R-Grand Rapids)
  • House District #73:     John Decker (R-Belmont)
  • House District #74:     Rep. Rob VerHeulen (R-Walker)
  • House District #76:     Donijo DeJonge (R-Grand Rapids)
  • House District #79:     Rep. Al Pscholka (R-Stevensville)
  • House District #82:     Jan Peabody (R-Lapeer)
  • House District #86:     Rep. Lisa Posthumus Lyons (R-Alto)
  • House District #89:     Rep. Amanda Price (R-Holland)
  • House District #90:     Daniela Garcia (R-Holland)
  • House District #94:     Rep. Tim Kelly (R-Saginaw Twp)
  • House District #98:     Karl Ieuter (R-Midland)
  • House District #99:     Rep. Kevin Cotter (R-Mt. Pleasant)
  • House District #101:   Rep. Ray Franz (R-Onekama)
  • House District #107:   Rep. Frank Foster (R-Petoskey)


Download our full release here: GLEP Endorsement Press Release (July 2014)